September 14th, 2008


September 14th, 2008 - Brent Rhebergen Wins
Applebee Motorsports and Bear Lake Inn E-Mod Invasion
 at Stateline Speedway

By Glenn Slocum

Busti, NY: A two day racing event scheduled for Friday and Saturday boiled down to one night of racing on Sunday under threatening skies and a strong wind. Fifty-five E-Mods checked in for the Applebee Motorsports and Bear Lake Inn E-Mod Invasion. Point leader Mike Moore suffered mechanical problems and suffered a DNF in the Outlaw Cadet feature but still won the point Championship. Chad Carlson won the Outlaw Cadet feature his fifth of the season. Joe Buccola Jr. won his third Super Sportsman feature and Dan Nocero won the point Championship. Brent Rhebergen won the wind shortened E-Mod special after high winds extinguished the lights over the speedway and the nights racing ended.

The final Outlaw Cadet feature of the season was brought to the speedway by Brian Crandall and Paul Himes. Troy Dorman and Kelly Frederes were in row two. Crandall jumped to the early lead with Dorman second and point leader Mike Moore third. Both Dorman and Moore passed Crandall at the end of lap two and Moore took the lead just before the yellow flew for a slowing Paul Norman Jr. The scoring went back a lap placing Dorman in the lead with Crandall second and Moore third. Crandall won the race to turn one but the second yellow, this time for Mike Lozowski stopped in turn two, put Dorman in the lead. Crandall led lap four then slowed coming out of turn two letting Moore lead lap five. Frederes and Chad Carlson made contact on the front stretch on lap six but recovered with Carlson taking third. The third caution occurred with seven complete for Glen Slaney and Lozowski. Moore, Crandall, Carlson, Frederes and Ottaway were the restart leaders. Moor slowed on lap nine with steering problems just as Carlson passed Crandall for second. The fourth caution was for Crandall spun to a stop in turn two. Chris Ward brought out the fifth caution with two laps remaining. Carlson held on for his fifth win of the season.

Jake Eller led the first circuit of the Super Sportsman feature. A lap three spin by Bryan Ester caused the first yellow of the race. Joe Buccola Jr. used the restart to take the lead as Eller lost several spots. Bob Van Arsdale was second with Jim Leonard third. Eller had problems with eleven complete for the second yellow of the race. Leonard was second after the restart with Ben Burgess third and John Boardman fourth. Steve Kania and Van Arsdale tangled with two laps remaining for the third yellow. Buccola made it look easy for his third of the season.

Kevin Morehouse led lap one of the Applebee Motorsports Bear Lake Inn E-Mod Invasion 30 lap $5,000 to win feature event. The race came under yellow with three laps complete for Dustin Eckman stopped in turn three. Morehouse lead with Brent Rhebergen second and Darren Talubori third. Nate Short and Tim Peterson tangled on the restart for the second yellow as rain started to fall on the speedway. One lap later last years winner Dave Hess Jr. caused the third yellow. Hess was pushed from the speedway as the 24 remaining cars were realigned for the restart. Morehouse beat the pack to turn one with Rhebergen second, Mike Knight third and Talubori fourth. Rhebergen challenged Morehouse on lap eight and Greg Johnson moved into the top four as Talubori slipped to fifth. Knight and Rhebergen were pressing More house as the race approached the half way mark. Morehouse slipped up the speedway in lap twelve and lost the lead as first Rhebergen led then Knight took control. John Lacki slowed with sixteen laps complete for the fourth yellow. Knight, Rhebergen, Johnson, Morehouse and Joel Watson were the top five. Knight tangled with another car and brought out the fifth yellow one lap after the restart. Rhebergen, Johnson, Morehouse, Jack Young and Joel Watson were the leaders. A nine car tangle on lap nineteen brought out the sixth yellow. Rhebergen led the next two laps then a power failure darkened the speedway. After a short delay the race was called with Rhebergen declared the winner.

Super Late Model

Heat 1: Scott Gurdak Corry PA, Bump Hedman Sugar Grove PA, Greg Oakes Franklinville NY, George LaBarbera Sugar Grove PA, Chad Valone Warren PA

Heat 2: Doug Eck Corry PA, Rich Gardner Waterford PA, Chris Hackett Erie PA, Dick Barton Ashville NY, David Scott Garland PA

Heat 3: Ryan Scott Garland PA, Dan Maxim Erie PA, Andy Boozel Clymer NY, Rod Maloy Panama NY, John Lobb Frewsburg NY


Heat 1: Kevin Morehouse Newark OH, Randy Hall Olean NY, Jack Young Thompson OH, Jason Genco Jamestown NY, Carl McKinney Pittsfield PA

Heat 2: Darren Talubori Galeton PA, Dustin Eckman North East PA, Chuck Frye Ashville NY, Dick Barton Ashville NY, Craig Bedell Little Valley NY

Heat 3: Brett Rhebergen, Dave Hess Jr. Waterford PA, Jason Stetson North East PA, Troy Loomis Sherrills Ford NC, Dave Will Erie PA

Heat 4: Greg Johnson Busti NY, Joel Watson Conneaut OH, Nate Short Niobe NY, Richard Michael Jr. Ischua NY, John Woodward Jr. Franklinville NY

Heat 5: Mike Knight, Tim Peterson Wilcox PA, John Boyd Waterford PA, John Lacki Sinclairville NY, Justin Carlson Sherman NY

First Feature: Brett Rhebergen, Greg Johnson Busti NY, Kevin Morehouse Newark OH, Joel Watson Conneaut OH, Jack Young Thompson OH, Darren Talubori Galeton PA, Richard Michael Jr. Ischua NY, Justin Carlson Sherman NY, Nate Short Niobe NY, Chuck Frye Ashville NY

Outlaw Cadet

Heat 1: Chad Carlson Lakewood NY, Steve Moynihan Jamestown NY, Mike Moore Russell PA, Paul Norman Jr. Gerry NY, Kelly Frederes Jamestown NY

Feature: Chad Carlson Lakewood NY, Steve Moynihan Jamestown NY, Kelly Frederes Jamestown NY, Troy Dorman Fredonia NY, Paul Himes Lakewood NY, Chris Ottaway Sherman NY, Brian Crandall Stockton NY, Chris Ward, Mike Lozowski North East PA, Robert Middleton Jr. Russell PA

Super Sportsman

Heat 1: Wade Watson Ashville NY, Ben Burgess Jr. Sherman NY, Ben Reed Brocton NY, Bob VanArsdale Portland NY, Steve Kania Waterford PA

Feature: Joe Buccola Jr. Falconer NY, James Leonard Jamestown NY, Ben Burgess Jr. Sherman NY, John Boardman Jamestown NY, Bob Hazzard Frewsburg NY, Bryan Ester Erie PA, Dan Nocero Jamestown NY, Steve Kania Waterford PA, Wade Watson Ashville NY, Bob VanArsdale Portland NY


Heat 1: Carl Marcy Wattsburg PA, Alex Froman Ashville NY, Tim Rockwell Salamanca NY, John Kelsey Jamestown NY, Lester Shoff

Heat 2: Jermin Strickland Jamestown NY, Gary Fisher North East PA, Kevin Golden Frewsburg NY, Tyler Green Corry PA, Eric Paulus Mayville NY

Heat 3: Matt Harvey Jamestown NY, Stanley Davis Jr. Jamestown NY, Skip Jackson Jamestown NY, Jerry Fish Jamestown NY, Tiny Larson Lakewood NY

Super Challenger

Heat 1: Roger Hall Ashville NY, Dillon Titus Jamestown NY, Brandon Troutman Jamestown NY, Chris Byrne Jamestown NY, Travis Darling Jamestown NY

Heat 2: Dana Haner Sugar Grove PA, Robert Hallowell Celeron NY, Joe Karash Jamestown NY, Robert Nocero Bemus Point NY, Scott Perrin Garland PA

Lady Challenger

Heat 1: Elaine Best Jamestown NY, Stephanie Hilyer Jamestown NY, Jessica Hallowell Celeron NY, Amanda Swanson North East PA, Mary Hammond Bemus Point NY